
RULE PROPOSALS INTERESTED PERSONS 
 
The Department of Corrections provides notices of rule proposals in the New Jersey Register (N.J.R.), a 
semi-monthly official publication of the Office of Administrative Law which contains all State agency 
rule proposals and adoptions. The following paragraph is quoted from the Proposal section of the New 
Jersey Register: Interested persons may submit comments, information or arguments concerning any of 
the rule proposals in this issue until the date indicated in the proposal. Submissions and any inquiries 
about submissions should be addressed to the agency officer specified for a particular proposal. The 
required minimum period for comment concerning a proposal is 30 days. A proposing agency may extend 
the 30-day comment period to accommodate public hearings or to elicit greater public response to a 
proposed new rule or amendment. Most notices of proposal include a 60-day comment period, in order to 
qualify the notice for an exception to the rulemaking calendar requirements of N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3. An 
extended comment deadline will be noted in the heading of a proposal or appear in a subsequent notice in 
the Register. At the close of the period for comments, the proposing agency may thereafter adopt a 
proposal, without change, or with changes not in violation of the rulemaking procedures at N.J.A.C. 1:30-
6.3. The adoption becomes effective upon publication in the Register of a notice of adoption, unless 
otherwise indicated in the adoption notice. Promulgation in the New Jersey Register establishes a new or 
amended rule as an official part of the New Jersey Administrative Code. 
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The agency proposal follows: 
Summary 

The proposed amendments are intended to promulgate and incorporate the requirements set forth 
in the Isolated Confinement Restriction Act, N.J.S.A. 30:4-82.5 through 11 (the Act), effective August 1, 
2020, that apply to correctional facilities based on several existing county correctional facility housing 
arrangements and hearing processes set forth at N.J.A.C. 10A:31.   

The Department of Corrections (Department) proposes to incorporate the requirements for 
healthcare evaluations and timing for hearings while in restrictive confinement into N.J.A.C. 10A:31-
16.1(f) by adding that confinement of more than 22 hours per day with severely restricted activity is 
permitted only if the hearing requirements and medical examinations requirements are met. 

Proposed new N.J.A.C. 10A:31-16.1(g) sets forth the required exclusion of individual inmates 
with characteristics defined in the Act as members of a vulnerable population from confinement of more 
than 22 hours per day with severely restricted activity. 



The existing rules at N.J.A.C. 10A:31-16.6 and 17.2 set forth that disciplinary detention may be 
imposed as a sanction for up to 15 days for each disciplinary charge provided that the total time to be 
served does not exceed 30 days.  The Department proposes to add the phrase “in a 60-day period” at the 
end of N.J.A.C. 10A:31-16.6(d) and 17.2(b) in keeping with restrictions in the Act.  In addition, the 
Department proposes new N.J.A.C. 10A:31-17.2(c) to clarify that an inmate shall not be placed in 
disciplinary detention for more than 20 consecutive days, or for more than 30 days during any 60-day 
period. 
 By adding the phrase “provided the inmate remains in general population pending the hearing” to 
the first sentence following the word “violation” and ending the first sentence at N.J.A.C. 10A:31-
16.12(a), the Department proposes to make clear that inmates will remain in general population when 
disciplinary hearings that take place within seven calendar days of an alleged violation.   

In order to comply with hearing requirements and related housing limitations in the Act, the 
Department proposes the following amendments to N.J.A.C. 10A:31-16.12(b) dealing with hearings in 
prehearing detention; replace “three days” with “72 hours”; replace “including weekends and holidays, 
unless there are” with “absent exigent circumstances, and a review every 30 days thereafter, in the 
absence of” and delete the last sentence as it is not in keeping with provisions in the Act. 

N.J.A.C. 10A:31-16.12(l) addresses instances in which further investigation is required that 
necessitates postponement of the disciplinary hearing.  The Department proposes to replace “for up to 48 
hours” with “but the inmate shall not be held in Prehearing Detention for more than a total of 72 hours” 
for Prehearing Detention cases and to replace “all other Hearings” with “when inmates remain in General 
Population awaiting a disciplinary hearing” to ensure compliance with the Act. 
 In order to clarify that the hearing procedure for placement in involuntary Protective Custody is 
indeed a hearing and not a review at N.J.A.C. 10A:31-18.2(a), the Department proposes to replace the 
word “review” with “conduct a hearing for all” and to replace “seven days” with “72 hours of placement” 
at the end of the sentence for compliance with hearing requirements in the Act. 

As the Department has determined that the comment period for this notice of proposal shall be 60 
days, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5. 
 

Social Impact 
The proposed amendments bring the rules into alignment with portions of N.J.S.A. 30:4-82.5 through 

11, which restrict the use of isolated confinement in correctional facilities and require less restrictive 
sanctions for infractions when practicable. 

The Department anticipates a positive social impact on the general public and inmate population 
resulting from the proposed amendments.  The law enforcement community may, however, feel that some 
process changes resulting from the amendments could potentially jeopardize safety and security in 
correctional facilities.  While the Department takes safety and security seriously and places safety as a 
paramount consideration, it believes the proposed amendments can be managed consistent with safety 
concerns.  

Economic Impact 
Additional funding will be necessary to implement the proposed amendments resulting from the 

requirements of N.J.S.A. 30:4-82.5 through 11.  The cost of meeting and maintaining the requirements of 
the proposed amendments will require, at a minimum, additional funding from the counties to cover the 
additional cost of additional medical services; increased custody staff; additional social services and 
increased staff; information technology staff; and upgrades to report-generating software and systems. 

The budget previously allocated by the counties may be insufficient to meet the added demands of 
the Isolated Confinement Restriction Act. 

Federal Standards Statement 
The proposed amendments are promulgated under the authority of the rulemaking requirements of the 

Department of Corrections at N.J.S.A. 30:1B-6 and 30:1B-10.  The proposed amendments are not subject 
to any Federal statutes, requirements, or standards; therefore, a Federal standards analysis is not required.   



Jobs Impact 
The proposed amendments will generate additional jobs as identified in the Economic Impact above. 

Agriculture Industry Impact 
The proposed amendments will have no impact on the agriculture industry. 

Regulatory Flexibility Statement 
A regulatory flexibility analysis is not required because the proposed amendments do not impose 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other compliance requirements on small businesses as defined in the 
Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq.  The proposed amendments only impose new 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other compliance requirements on the New Jersey Department of 
Corrections and governmental entities responsible for the enforcement of the rules. 

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis 
The proposed amendments shall have no impact on housing affordability and there is an extreme 

unlikelihood that the amendments proposed would evoke a change in the average costs associated with 
housing.  The proposed amendments concern changes to inmate discipline brought about by requirements 
of the Act and the Department’s efforts to effectuate less restrictive interventions for disciplinary 
infractions in the New Jersey county correctional facilities, the New Jersey Department of Corrections, 
and governmental entities responsible for the enforcement of the rules. 

 
Smart Growth Impact Development Analysis 

The proposed amendments will have no impact on the achievement of smart growth and there is an 
extreme unlikelihood the proposed amendments will evoke a change in housing production within 
Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment 
Plan.  The proposed amendments concern changes to inmate discipline brought about by requirements of 
the Act and the Department’s efforts to effectuate less restrictive interventions for disciplinary infractions 
in the New Jersey county correctional facilities, the New Jersey Department of Corrections, and 
governmental entities responsible for the enforcement of the rules. 

Racial and Ethnic Community Criminal Justice and Public Safety Impact 
The Department of Corrections has evaluated this rulemaking and determined that it will not have an 

impact on pretrial detention, sentencing, probation, or parole policies concerning adults and juveniles in 
the State.   Accordingly, no further analysis is required. 
 
Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets 
[thus]): 
 
SUBCHAPTER 16. DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES 
10A:31-16.1 Disciplinary rules and sanctions 
(a)-(e) (No change.) 
(f)  Confinement of an inmate in a county correctional facility, for disciplinary, administrative, 
protective, investigative, medical, or other classification reasons, in a cell or similarly confined 
space, alone or with other inmates, for 22 hours or more per day, with severely restricted activity, 
movement, and social interaction shall be permitted only if the following medical examination and 
placement hearing conditions are met: 

1.  Prior to such confinement, inmates shall receive preliminary medical and mental health 
examination conducted by a member of the medical staff within 12 hours of confinement and a 
clinical examination within 48 hours of confinement unless staffing levels require that  the period 
for conducting the clinical examination be extended to 72 hours following confinement; and 

2. Absent exigent circumstances, unavoidable delays, or reasonable postponements, inmates 
shall have the right to an initial hearing within 72 hours of placement, and a review every 30 days 
thereafter; the right to appear at the hearing; the right to be represented at the hearing; an 



independent hearing officer; and a written statement of reasons for the decision made at the 
hearing. 
(g)  Any inmate meeting the criteria in this subsection shall not be confined as described in (f) above 
for any reason, excluding medical quarantines, facility-wide lockdowns, or unit-wide lockdowns: 

1. Is 21 years of age or younger; 
2. Is 65 years of age or older; 
3. Has a disability based on a mental illness, as defined at N.J.S.A. 30:4-27.2, a history of 

psychiatric  hospitalization, or has recently exhibited conduct, including, but not limited to, 
serious self-mutilation, indicating the need for further observation or evaluation to determine the 
presence of mental illness; 

4. Has a developmental disability, as defined at N.J.S.A. 30:4-27.2; 
5. Has a serious medical condition that cannot effectively be treated in isolated confinement; 
6. Is pregnant, is in the postpartum period, has recently suffered a miscarriage, or 

terminated a pregnancy; 
7. Has a significant auditory or visual impairment; or 
8. Is perceived to be lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or intersex. 

 
10A:31-16.6 Major violations and sanctions 
(a)-(c) (No change.) 
(d)  If an inmate is found guilty of multiple disciplinary charges, he or she may receive up to 15 days 
Disciplinary Detention for each charge provided that the total time to be served does not exceed 30 days 
in a 60-day period.   
(e) (No change.) 
 
10A:31-16.12 Disciplinary hearing 
(a)  The inmate shall be entitled to a hearing within seven calendar days of the alleged violation, 
[including] provided the inmate remains in general population pending the hearing.  Calculation of 
the seven days shall include weekends and holidays, unless such hearing is prevented by exceptional 
circumstances, unavoidable delays, or reasonable postponements. Should the seventh day fall on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the hearing shall be held on the business day immediately following the 
weekend or holiday. 
(b)  Inmates confined in Prehearing Detention shall receive a hearing within [three calendar days] 72 
hours of their placement in Prehearing Detention, [including weekends and holidays, unless there are] 
absent exigent circumstances, and a review every 30 days thereafter, in the absence of  exceptional 
circumstances, unavoidable delays, or reasonable postponements. [Should the third day fall on a Saturday, 
Sunday or holiday, the hearing shall be held on the business day immediately following the weekend or 
holiday.]    
(c)-(k) (No change.) 
(l) Should further investigation be required, the Disciplinary Hearing may be postponed by the 
Disciplinary Board/hearing officer [for up to 48 hours] but the inmate shall not be held in Prehearing 
Detention for more than a total of 72 hours for Prehearing Detention cases and for seven days for [all 
other Hearings] when inmates remain in general population awaiting a disciplinary hearing. 
    
SUBCHAPTER 17. DISCIPLINARY DETENTION 
10A:31-17.2 Time spent in Disciplinary Detention 
(a) (No change.) 
(b)  Inmates found guilty of multiple disciplinary charges may receive up to 15 days Disciplinary 
Detention for each charge provided that the total time to be served does not exceed 30 days in a 60-day 
period. 



(c) An inmate shall not be placed in Disciplinary Detention for more than 20 consecutive days, or 
for more than 30 days during any 60-day period. 
[(c)] (d) (No change in text.) 
 
SUBCHAPTER 18. PROTECTIVE CUSTODY 
10A:31-18.2 Hearing procedure for involuntary placement to Protective Custody 
(a)  The adult county correctional facility's Classification Committee shall [review] conduct a hearing 
for all involuntary Protective Custody placements within [seven days] 72 hours of placement. 
(b)-(c) (No change.) 
 


